it seemed like a good idea at the time

I noticed I had split ends within days of my last haircut, but have been obsessing about them for the last week or so. It’s gotten to the point that I trim them off at work because I hate noticing them out of the corner of my eye. They also tickle my neck, which drives me absolutely crazy. I’ve planned to wear my hair up for the wedding, but down as always at all other wedding events. Split ends do not look nice, and I was starting to be bothered by the fact that my hair would look like crap for most of the wedding events.

So last night I decided to take matters into my own hands and did a home treatment in order to fix, mask, or prevent the annoying things. I decided to follow a recipe I found on the internet (Mix 1 tsp honey with 2 Tbsp olive oil, then beat in 1 egg yolk. Massage on hair in small sections. Wrap head with shower cap for 30 minutes. Rinse and shampoo).

Being a thrify girl, I opted to save my olive oil for my cooking, and chose to use the end of a small bottle of lemon-infused safflower oil instead. I added 2 t of honey to the bottle, plopped the bottle into some hot water to soften the honey. I skipped the egg yolk, thinking that if I made a mistake it might be embarassing to explain to the plumber why our shower drain was clogged with cooked eggs. I used less than half of the mixture on my hair and let it sit for 30 minutes. My cats sniffed my hair a lot during this time, but didn’t try to eat it, per their usual nightly routine.

When 30 minutes was up, I rinsed, and rinsed, and rinsed, but the sticky-slick mixture didn’t want to leave my tresses. I toweled my hair dry, only to notice that it looked like I’d never rinsed it at all. Two shampoos later, my hair still felt oily and I could still smell a little bit of lemon. I wrapped a towel around my pillow before going to bed, in the hopes that I wouldn’t ruin our brand-new pillowcases.

I took another shower and washed my hair for the 4th time in 24 hours this morning. Lo and behold, all the oil washed out this time around. I skipped conditioner, and was more careful with combing, blowdrying and curling. An inspection at the office revealed fewer noticible split ends but overall substantially duller color. So it did what it was supposed to, but still doesn’t seem to have done much good for my hair. I have a feeling that today will end up as a ponytail day after all!

40 more days until life returns to normal, and I will be able to cut my hair properly!

The only cure for vanity is laughter, and the only fault that is laughable is vanity.”

Henri Bergson (French Philosopher, 1927 Nobel Prize in Literature, 1859-1941)

Leave a comment